I was honoured and delighted to receive the Society of Dairy Technology Gold Medal award at the Societies’ 80th Anniversary Conference: Digitalisation of Processing in the Dairy Industry at University College Cork on the 23rd of November.

The medal presented by the SDT President Mr Nick Edwards is awarded for outstanding contribution to dairy science and/or technology throughout the world. It was first awarded in 1951 and there have only been 17 awarded since that date. Only 3 per decade are allowed to be awarded, the last being to Dr Adnan Tamime in 2011. 

Award of gold medal

 The SDT gold medal was presented by Mr Nick Edwards 

The presentation in the historic Aula Maxima at UCC was even more poignant since I started my dairy science and technology journey at this university working on lactococcal bacteriophages with Professors Charlie Daly and Pat Fox. My time at UCC left a lasting hugely positive impression of the institution and its staff.

A major element of this award was my work on the International Journal of Dairy Technology.  The success of the journal is due in large part to the work of my editorial colleagues Dr Aprea, Professor Cruz, Dr Datta, Dr Li, Professor Mehta, Dr Rico and Ms Sarah Mellor, Ms Katy Griffiths, Ms Nelissa Duarte, Ms Keerthana Govindarajan, Mr Craig Gregory, Mr Jebasingh Duraisamy, Ms Ella Liu and Mr Noel McGlinchey at Wiley.